How Many Countries Speak English?

English is a language that does not top the list of languages that are most common in the world, but it certainly is a language that people speak in six continents and seventy countries. Most of the applications and websites on the internet also comprise English as their main language. Therefore, if you master the English language, you can truly call yourself a global language master.

How Many Countries Speak English - Grammar.LTD

Though this is a fact, have you ever wondered how many countries speak this language to make it a global one? Are you thinking about how much the English language is used by people worldwide in their daily life? No matter the reason, today we will talk about all the countries that host English as either their main or one of their main languages.

Our team has done thorough research and came up with the names for each country from every continent that speaks English. So, make sure to make it until the end of this article to get your answers!

Continents and Their English-Speaking Countries

Let us take a look at the countries that speak English based on the continents. 

1. North and South America

It is a commonly known fact that most of the population in the United States of America use English to carry out their daily tasks and hold conversations. It is also the language used for handling its educational and governmental affairs.

North and South America
North and South America

Besides the USA, Canada is another American country known for its widely-accepted usage of English. English is also its top official language, seconded only by French, which is spoken by nearly an equal amount of its population. Most of Canada’s population is proficient in using English and French equally.

Countries in North and South America that speak English as its official language are:

  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Anguilla
  • The Virgin Islands
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Belize
  • Puerto Rico
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidad and Tobago

Please note that even after having English as their official language, you can still find a huge population in some of these above-stated countries that do not speak English.

2. Europe

Europe is renowned for its usage of English in its governmental papers. As per the latest survey, more than 90% of literate Europeans come across and study English at some period during their lifetime. Though this is true, not all of them gain proficiency or fluency in the language.


In Europe, English is the most used language, seconded by German and followed by French. Therefore, most of the renowned countries in the continent speak English and are mentioned below.

  • Ireland
  • Wales
  • Malta
  • Jersey
  • The Isle of Man
  • Northern Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Guernsey
  • Gibraltar
  • England

3. Africa

Africa is a continent that consists of various official languages. South Africa has 11 total languages recorded as its official languages. Other than the official languages, many local and tribal languages are also used in the country.


English is also listed as one in its official language list. But in many countries of the continent, a very small population uses English as part of their daily conversations or any professional task. For example, English is listed as Botswana’s official business language, but hardly any of its population makes use of it in the referred context daily.

Hence, Countries where English is known to be spoken well in daily life and as its official language are:

  • Rwanda
  • Kenya
  • Ghana
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe
  • Lesotho
  • South Africa

The countries where despite being listed as their official language, English is not used as a key language for daily communication are below.

  • Burundi
  • Malawi
  • The Gambia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Liberia
  • Mauritius
  • Saint Helena
  • Seychelles
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Cameroon
  • Swaziland

4. Oceania

Australia is a country in Oceania that, similar to the USA, is famous for its wide usage of English on a daily basis but has not declared it as its official language. Most of the other countries in Oceania are English speakers, are the Cook Islands and American Samoa.


There are many other countries in Oceania where, despite being not listed as the official language, their populations widely use English. The other Oceanic countries that officially have English listed as their primary spoken language are below.

  • Kiribati
  • Guam
  • Micronesia
  • Niue
  • Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Pitcairn
  • Fiji
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Tonga
  • Palau

5. Asia

Asia is the home to one of the most widely used languages on the planet. English is also counted as one of the continent’s most used languages. Many countries do not have English listed as their official language but are used by their civilians more than their official language(s).


Countries in Asia that have English as their official language are below.

  • Pakistan
  • India
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Israel
  • Malaysia
  • Brunei
  • Philippines
  • Bangladesh

Among these countries, India, Singapore, the Philippines, and Pakistan are the countries that have English listed as their official language. Most of the governmental and educational tasks are also carried out using English.

Conclusion: How Many Countries Speak English

English comes on the third number on the list of most common primary languages worldwide. More than a billion people around the planet speak the language. Among these, only about 380 million have learned English as their mother tongue.

The language is used for a great amount of official and educational use. Hence, if you are looking for a reason to learn or become fluent in English, then doing so can expand your network and career opportunities all around the world while being able to make numerous friends and acquaintances.